PDA

View Full Version : need help in 8-05 (muley behavior questions)

twoSevenO
10-12-2008, 07:02 PM
so i got out this morning to 8-05 and for the second time in that area i've witnessed the same things happening. I got there it was still dark. Parked the jeep and walked about 1km to a cut block.

(I'm a newb to 8-05 and hunting in general so i don't have secret spots per se lol)

Anyways, I walked to the cut block, sat down on the edge and began to glass for about 2 hrs everywhere. My cut block (above the Tulameen River FSR) and the surrounding area. Saw nothing, but was hoping to see at least some does with all the tracks and poop in the area.

Now, about the things i noticed in the times i've been to this area:

1) Majority of the tracks i saw lead down the hill. Some were very fresh, definitely this morning's tracks. My question is this: There was not enough snow at the top to chase them down. What would be the next reason for them all going downhill?

2) Would this be a good opportunity for me to wait on them in the afternoon as they return back up to higher ground? Or would a smarter thing to do be to set up a spot down below during first light and get them as they make their way down?

3) After the first-light feeding time has passed, what is my best bet with a sunny, dry day like today? Say from 10am onward. Should i be looking for bedded deer in the sunlight? Bedded in the shade?
This took place at around 4600ft with 2"-3" of snow max.

Soooo .... i'd love to hear what the gang on HBC has to chime in. Any advice is appreciated and hopefully i can get this hunting thing figured out a little bit :smile:

Jelvis
10-12-2008, 07:10 PM
Deer will bed down in thick valley and come up just at dark to eat bushes in an opening then go back to thicker valley just at daybreak so hunt early and late til the rut starting on October 23rd or so.
If you can see them on the trail before the opening say inside the bush just before where they come out. Kapow! Jel

Freshtracks