PDA

View Full Version : question about bullets

Sikanni Stalker
09-07-2005, 07:38 PM
hOWDY GANG,

Just a quick question about bullets. I am going on my goat hunt next week. I have only ever used winchester 180's in my 30-06. Will these be ok for a mountain hunt ?????? I have heard that goats can be a long shot and I have read here that they can be pretty close. Do I want to substitute punch for a lighter flatter bullet?????? (160's) for the long shots or keep the heavies for the kill. Please your input will be apppreciated.

Thanks
Tim

Steeleco
09-07-2005, 07:47 PM
Now this is just my opinion as I'm not a ballistics pro but I would hunt with what you know, especially since time is short. If you were to pick a 165 they will shoot a little flatter but may not shoot well in your gun. And so on with the smaller bullets, it takes range time to be sure.

BCHunter
09-07-2005, 08:12 PM
becareful not to buy cheap 165's, I'd suggest Hornady ammo

Sikanni Stalker
09-07-2005, 08:17 PM
ok I heard this before. when I bought my gun the guy said winchesters were about the best. Now coming from a bowhunting background that's what i bought in good faith and have always used them. is there another factor to consider here or is this one of the great debates?????????

I have seen lots of bullets posted here that I have never seen when buying ammo....

TIA again,
Tim

black 'n blue
09-07-2005, 08:24 PM
I would use the 180's for sure if I was used to shooting them. They will give plenty of range. As an added bonus, if you see a moose on the way up you have the right load. And IF you should run into a grizz, I'd sooner have 180's than 150's. Last mountain goat I shot was with 200 gr. round nose bullets. You don't have to shoot them 400 yards away!

BCHunter
09-07-2005, 08:39 PM
As an added bonus, if you see a moose on the way up you have the right load.

165's will do fine for moose too. It worked for me this year....

Thunderstix
09-07-2005, 09:03 PM