PDA

View Full Version : Treestands for elk???

steepNdeep
09-07-2008, 08:56 PM
Another thread got me thinkin? Does anyone use a treestand for hunting elk? Anyone kill anything from it?

One of my friends has killed a couple of archery bulls and a couple of nice whitey bucks from the same stand. I've sat in them a few times, but like to roam and call mucho better.

Here's one of our spots, where there's a bit of sign... :D

http://www.secretcreeksupplies.com/wallow-stand1-s.jpg

Did you notice the stand in the pic?

Alpine Addict
09-07-2008, 10:06 PM
Just out of curiosity what are the exact coordiantes of that location? haha just kiddin.

Until you mentioned it I could have barely noticed the stand. Is it in the top right corner, lightly coloured beige?

hunter1947
09-08-2008, 05:43 AM
I have been using a summit self claiming tree stand now for 2 years for elk.

I have called in about 6 bulls when sitting in it the past two years.

All six where not a 6 point on ether side ,maybe this year I will count 6 on the one side when sitting in mine???.

mcrae
09-08-2008, 07:14 AM
I have a spot like that as well and I have been thinking really hard on a tree stand as well. I mostly rifle hunt though so I have been hesitant to sit in one stand all morning but I imagine if I could force myself to stay put it would work great...

browningboy
09-08-2008, 07:51 AM
Nice wallow / lick, just put some time in there and you should be rewarded! Just bring some magazines and wait and listen.:razz:

I like how the trail goes right under the stand!

steepNdeep
09-08-2008, 01:26 PM
Until you mentioned it I could have barely noticed the stand. Is it in the top right corner, lightly coloured beige?

Top left - right above the trail. I've had animals come in but haven't shot yet. I get too antsy sittin' there... 2 more sleeps!! :D

BCrams
09-08-2008, 01:43 PM
I would assume a treestand over a lick / wallow would be very effective ...