PDA

View Full Version : Age This Stone

Wild Images
09-04-2008, 11:42 AM
Here is the ram that Rand wanted me to post for you guys to age Co got 11 1/2 yrs
Have fun, I will let Rand answer any questions
http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/medium/69062.jpg (http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/showphoto.php?photo=10366&size=big&cat=500&ppuser=2692)
http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/medium/22692.jpg (http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/showphoto.php?photo=10368&size=big&cat=500&ppuser=2692)

Stone Sheep Steve
09-04-2008, 11:48 AM
10 1/2+ and maybe one more depending on what's under the hailine. Once they get that old there "may" be another one hidden down low.

Old enough for me:smile:.

SSS

Gateholio
09-04-2008, 11:51 AM
My guess was 10.5 as well...:?

Kitimat Killer
09-04-2008, 01:50 PM
im with you guys 10.5 for me too but im no expert

bighornbob
09-04-2008, 02:04 PM
I get 9 1/2 and I am the expert:tongue:

BHB

whitetailsheds
09-04-2008, 02:25 PM
8.5 or 9.5

tomahawk
09-04-2008, 02:37 PM
9 ...................

hunter1947
09-04-2008, 02:38 PM
My guess is 11 years old.

willy442
09-04-2008, 02:43 PM
9.5 years and by the new growth markings at the base, no chance of a hidden growth ring.

Avalanche123
09-04-2008, 02:48 PM
I came up with 10.5 too. Now I can only imagine trying to come up with that with a spotting scope under less than ideal conditions. Now one can see why "quality" optics are essential.

That sure looks good up against that wood wall!

Buckwheat
09-04-2008, 03:09 PM
i got 10.5 on this big boy!!!

BCrams
09-04-2008, 03:21 PM
I am sticking with 8.5 as it is from the photo's boys. (there is no way he is a 11.5 year old ram).

This time, I highlighted the false annuli in BLUE. Now with the last blue highlighted ... the markings are almost identical going backwards but the line is less pronounced on the underside of the horn ..... clearly false annuli (which can be tricky on many sheep).

The RED highlights the true horn growth rings.