PDA

View Full Version : First big animal

gaza211
09-03-2008, 07:28 PM
I would like to say I am new to hunting.........
However this will be my fourth year. I only get one week max each year to hunt outside the lower mainland.
I still have not shot anything larger than a goose.
Each year I have gone deer hunting and I cant find the deer. I have found plenty of bear, Elk, bobcat and sheep but I never have the tag for the right game.
My question is how many of you buy all tags and hunt whatever you find?
How long did you hunt before your first large animal kill?

Caveman
09-03-2008, 07:41 PM
I carry a muley,moose,blackbear and a whitetail tag because you just never know. This year I'll also be carring an elk tag, because that will be my quest for at least one week. I was in my early twenties, for my first, not from a lack of trying. An Immature bull moose while hunting alone and that seemed to be the key for me. Hunting alone brought huge luck for me, although stressing out my dad and wife, but they got over it in time.

Blainer
09-03-2008, 07:42 PM
I definately keep a tag in my pocket for any species I would be interested in during deer season.Never know when you might see an immature moose or 6point elk.
Where do you see the sheep?

Spuddge
09-03-2008, 07:44 PM
I buy a moose tag, mulie tag and bear tag every year. I've been hunting for three years, got skunked for big game the 1st year, got my 1st mulie last year and I've already cut my moose tag this year and still hoping to get a fall bear and a mulie.

gaza211
09-03-2008, 08:00 PM
I definately keep a tag in my pocket for any species I would be interested in during deer season.Never know when you might see an immature moose or 6point elk.
Where do you see the sheep?

Second year hunting on nine mile ridge past lilloet. looking for deer I saw two- two pointers during four point opening.