PDA

View Full Version : Fraser River Sheep

BCRiverBoater
08-26-2008, 09:49 PM
Just sending a few feelers out for anyone who has some experience hunting sheep on the Fraser in the open season. I have heard the chances of finding a full curl ram are slim to none hence the popularity in the LEH draws.

I have a riverboat and have been thinking for a few years that I may come down one year and give it a whirl. If anyone had some info on if it would be worth while or not please PM me.

Also I would be willing to bring boat down and find a partner and take him with me for exchange for some info. Also could look at some sort of swap or deal for future thinhorn hunt.

Same thing could go for bighorns as the Californian's.

Anyways...not expecting in to show up on here so PM's will work fine.

jml11
08-27-2008, 07:43 AM
Why hasn't anyone posted anything...LOL

I have no experience hunting the Fraser Sheep but do know that there are full curls out there but you do have to hunt them extermely hard to find them. I say give it a shot though!

Thought I would post a couple photos of two full curl rams taken last year in Region 5, these photos are public knowledge and to the best of my knowledge have already been posted on here so no harm in showing them again! I love looking at these photos! One was guided other was not.

http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e397/jflex48/219.jpg
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e397/jflex48/BCRam.jpg

BCrams
08-27-2008, 07:49 AM
I heard quite the story about the fellow holding the second ram getting all greedy and shooting the ram from under his partner who had spotted it first and was glassing up a second ram for him to shoot when the gun went off. But as it is, could be just a rumour. I doubt he's too popular these days for a sheep partner.

The first ram was guided by Alana Oestrich who runs Black Dome Outfitters. For those who do not know where that is, Black Dome is right in the heart of the Empire Valley and her guide territory.