PDA

View Full Version : Caping Animals

Avalanche123
08-26-2008, 07:33 PM
Does anybody have any good internet sites for caping animals? I am pretty much self-taught and if I ever do get a sheep, I'd like to ensure I do the best job possible.

Thanks in advance.

Avalanche123
08-26-2008, 07:43 PM
What I am looking for specifically is whether or not you complete the job in the field or carry the full head and cape out and do the job in a more work prone environment.

Also, if temps stay below zero, is salting necessary?

Deadshot
08-26-2008, 08:05 PM
I have a vid titled "Skinning & Caping Large Game" starring Pete Gierke. Pretty informative. The sleeve for it says 'www.taxidermyvideos.com' or try 1-888-430-7902. Haven't watched it for awhile but I think he does a bou & an antelope among others.
Hell, I might just watch it tonight!

Rock Doctor
08-26-2008, 08:08 PM
Everything can be done in the field.
I cary a scalple handle and a bunch of blades for this. Much easier to split the eyes, ears, lips and nose that way. A simple piece of wood pushed into the ear helps with those "long eared" animals.

If temps are below 0, there is no need for salt. Pretty hard to count on that though.

RD

Sitkaspruce
08-26-2008, 08:14 PM
I have always caped up to the back of the neck and then finished it off back at camp. I find that after a long stock/hike and after the kill, that I need to come back down, so the rest gives me the chance to calm down so I do not loose any fingers or such:mrgreen:

I know guys who have done it at the kill site and if you do have the time it is doable, just not for me. I NEED the time to get things back in order.