PDA

View Full Version : location, location, location

kastles
08-12-2008, 11:46 PM
hey my name is matt and this will be my second season hunting. me and a group of buddies all started last year and didn't do to hot. this year we have a few more buddies with their liscences and want to get out and get some deer. we just bought a wall tent and cannot wait to make use of it. but as all of us are new to it i was hoping some of yous would give us a bit of direction of where to go. from the lower mainland, i figure somewhere within a six hour drive for weekend trips. any help would be awesome. also any tips on de-scenting clothing and such would be great. thanks matt

gone hunting
08-13-2008, 12:01 AM
I started learning from my mistakes about 30 years ago. Sounds like you are about 29 years ago right now...... Where to start? Well for one thing, make sure you hang up and dry your wall tent, indoors for about a week after each use..... If you check the hunting reg's, you can see which areas have the most liberal seasons, thats where you are likely to find the most abundant critters.....Cotton is bad. Wool is good. Fleece works too. Sit and watch and listen,early morning and evening, move if you have to in between.....Aim small, miss small. So endeth the leason. Good luck, it will get better.

Steeleco
08-13-2008, 12:08 AM
There's lots to see 360* around Merritt, Just get out there and cover some ground. The one thing that took me the longest to learn was not to look for WHOLE animals. It takes some practice, but you'll see lots more if your only looking for bits of them, and movement of body parts. you'll see what I mean in time!! Good luck.

hunter1947
08-13-2008, 04:52 AM
Go up around cash creek for mule deer.

Head up around the kettle valley for elk ,whitetail and mule.

huntwriter
08-13-2008, 07:06 AM