PDA

View Full Version : Nervous to say the least

Shootingblanks
08-12-2008, 05:13 AM
Hi folks,

Now before I ask my question, I first wanted to say that I'm new to this site and even newer to Bow Hunting. I haven't as of yet purchased a bow/x-bow and here lays the dilemma. I've rifled hunted for years and have been interested in archery hunting. I'm a complete novice other than the occasional trip to Royal City Archers. I'm not 100% confident in that killing power of arrows/bolts over bullets and I am extremely concerned and fearful of an animal "getting away" on me (regardless of the weapon).

My thoughts have been leading me towards getting a crossbow over a compound bow due to a couple of reasons: 1.) It's a style of weapon I am familiar with. 2.) Provides a greater level of accuracy with a lesser degree of (do I dare say it) skill. 3.) Increases my confidence in taking an animal with a bow type weapon and subsequently leads me into compound bows.

-Does that make logical sense, or am I completely out to lunch (won't be the first time) lol.
-And in regards to arrow/bolt placement; is placement restricted to "behind the shoulder" only or is it efficient to shoot for other vital areas of the animal. And in the case of a animal approaching "head-on" would you target the same as if you were using a rifle? Or wait for the broadside only?

Thank you in advance or your thoughts and opinions :)

calvin L
08-12-2008, 05:28 AM