PDA

View Full Version : Exit 315-off-the-Coquihalla-above Merritt

Jelvis
08-10-2008, 09:34 PM
deleted ----------------------

mooseless
08-10-2008, 10:18 PM
I did not see any animals there last weekend but just a few hours ago I saw 5 white tail, a bull moose and a bear just north of there. Lots of logging in the area.

Steeleco
08-10-2008, 11:08 PM
I'm no expert but I figure there's going to be a population explosion in most of these pine beetle cut areas. I know the spot we took our spring bears was only cut a year or so back. Now it's thick with long green grasses. The critters were everywhere. Hopefully the kid will connect on his first Bambi in just under 4 weeks!

behemoth
08-11-2008, 09:23 AM
I live near this area and stopped hunting it because it is too overcrowded. Every road hunting yahoo within 300 kilometres spends their weekends cruising those roads. I was following a ridge a couple years back and had 3 seperate trucks stop and scope me out through rifles out of truck doors. No thanks!!

Red Foreman
08-11-2008, 09:36 AM
I was talking with a logger freind of mine and he was telling me they've started on the Mab side behind Lac la Juene.They're logging all the way from there to the Merritt end,there won't be a tree in sight.The same goes with Chattaway 3-18,massive logging going on up there right now.I agree with Behemoth on the number of hunters as well.

Jelvis
08-11-2008, 10:00 AM
-----------------------------

johnk
08-11-2008, 10:12 AM
Exit 315 when you take the exit you can go for miles tons of area. Towards Nicola Lake on one side and over by mountain ridges that drop in elevation right into the flats on either side of the Coquihalla. Close to Merritt, Logan Lake and Kamloops. Country has to be seen to appreciate it's potential. Check it out once, easy access from the lower mainland all the way to the spot. Mule deer and moose. Jel-good huntin to ya!