PDA

View Full Version : Calling all Moose

Rusty
08-08-2008, 05:45 PM
I have always hunted Moose by walking very slow and watching and looking for black and or movement.
NEVER have I ever tried to call one in!
BUT reading the posts and the success of calling, I would love to try it this season. Sept 10th :smile:
The reason I have never tried before is I am afraid I would not sound just right and scare the game away.
Is there a call you can buy that sounds perfect and easy to use?
Thanks
Rusty

Deadshot
08-08-2008, 05:57 PM
Buy an instructional video/recording & practice mimicing the call. You'd be surprised at how responsive those lovesick critters can be. Of course timing is everything. I think Srupp is the man to talk to as he has his very own vid.
Good luck!

Avalanche123
08-08-2008, 06:05 PM
Sept 10 may be a little early IMHO.....Depending on the timing of the rut, even the worse sounding moose call can bring a raging bull in. I've heard of bulls coming to the sound of a chainsaw LOL.

Good luck! It is an exciting experience to have one come to the call. They can come in like "freight trains" or sneak in like a mouse so be prepared!

08-08-2008, 06:28 PM
These guys are right on, timing is everything, when you hit it right lookout.
Learn, Moon River, then sing it in cow moose lingo.LOL . If your not getting any response with a cow in heat call, try a bulls grunt. The videos and dvds are the way to go. They are all individuals, and act differently, expect the unexpected. Pick a frosty cool mornings and evenings, get downwind where you hope the beast will come from, stay hidden, practice calling before the hunt ... LOTS ! I personally have had then tip toe in and come a running, others hang up or try to circle you, be aware of your wind, move with them if you have too, rake the willows with the birch bark call or old antler ....(watch out on that one though) some yahoo might think your a bull. Sound like them and your in
Good luck.
C/T

kennyj
08-08-2008, 06:30 PM