PDA

View Full Version : Fly fishing Fernie?

Plincker
08-06-2008, 10:24 PM
Hi guys,

Me and the girlfriend are headin out to Fernie for a week at the end of Aug. I'm gonna be taking my fly rod and I'm wondering if anyone knows of some good spots on the Elk river or any other good rivers to fish. I'm just learning so anygood begginer spots would be great!

Thanx, Plincker

08-07-2008, 12:36 AM
Hi guys,

Me and the girlfriend are headin out to Fernie for a week at the end of Aug. I'm gonna be taking my fly rod and I'm wondering if anyone knows of some good spots on the Elk river or any other good rivers to fish. I'm just learning so anygood begginer spots would be great!

Thanx, Plincker

Anywhere between Morrissey and Fernie is good, you'll see the vehicles parked where the hot holes are. The Bull River is also real good. Don't forget to pick up your Classified Waters License. You'll have a great time catching Westslope Cuts.

Plincker
08-07-2008, 08:06 PM
Thanx alot for the info 6616. I'm not familiar with this Classified waters license you mentioned? I have my Fresh water license, is the classified license for specific species or rivers?

blackford
08-07-2008, 08:32 PM
Thanx alot for the info 6616. I'm not familiar with this Classified waters license you mentioned? I have my Fresh water license, is the classified license for specific species or rivers?

good question.. i am wondering the same thing...

model88
08-07-2008, 08:58 PM

The Classified license is only river and day specific if you arent from B.C. Its a one time purchase per year. Can't remember the cost, I think its $18.00 or so.

Be prepared to be fishing elbow to elbow on the Elk. The Bull is good and so is the Fording. Little less pressure on these two. good luck and happy fishing.

blackford
08-07-2008, 10:10 PM
so being that we are from BC it isnt a issue and we dont require it?

08-07-2008, 11:06 PM
so being that we are from BC it isnt a issue and we dont require it?