PDA

View Full Version : The Real Hbc Hunting Champ!!!

BiG Boar
05-29-2008, 10:38 AM
This is a no BS question. How many hours of legal hunting light, are you in the bush, on a mountain, or in a stand, with a gun in hand, or on a pack, or quad, or truck, per year average. If you drive for a living and have a gun in your truck just incase you see something, that doesnt count. I dont want to hear how many days you sit at camp and hunt the last hour of daylight...that would be 1 hour of hunting. Lets go with your average. I am new to hunting. Two years ago I shot my doe LEH in the first half hour of sun up. This year for bears I am at 58 hours. But..... there is a lot of hunting left to do. Just trying to see who here is THE REAL HBC HUNTING CHAMP
Dave

(time hunting doesnt mean youre the best hunter, in some cases, maybe youre actually the worst;-))

Mr. Dean
05-29-2008, 10:51 AM
It isn't me...

While I dedicate ALL my time off to the collection of critters, I'm still forced with the fact that I live's in the city. My time afield is limited to 6 weeks/year. 4 for hunting and 2 for fishing.

When I am out, all my time is spent toting a rifle and reading the land. Not only for what I'm seeking at the moment, but whats been happening recently, and trying to forecast whats goin to happen next.

I'll usually take 2 or 3 hours off, come mid day. This is when I eat my main meal, grab a nap and reflect on the information I gathered along the way.

I envy the fella's that are able to do this on a daily basis because of their proximity to critter infested areas....

Gateholio
05-29-2008, 11:59 AM
Not sure of hours, but I'd say I spend on an average one day a week hunting or in unting related activities... So I'd say about 52 days per year. Maybe a bit more if you count scouting while fishing:tongue:

I'm always looking while driving, and this year I have spent about 10 days predator hunting , and about 15 days bear hunting. Still havent' shot a bear! :)

elkdom