PDA

View Full Version : looking for advice on deboning moose

gone hunting
05-26-2008, 12:30 AM
We have plans for a moose hunt this fall. The plan was to take the boat down a lake, set up a base camp, get a moose or two, then pack into a valley, set up a spike camp and look for caribou, goats and sheep.

My 18 year old son and his buddy want to do do the spike camp for moose. Is it just me, or is a moose too big to put in a pack? OK, I can see we have to debone the thing, and I don't see a big problem there, but I have never done this before and can't imagine walking into my favourite butcher shop with a bag of meat , and saying I want steaks and roasts....

Is there anyone out there who has done this sort of thing, who can make the whole process seem clear to me? This area has some tank size moose, and I admire their youth and enthusiasm, I just want to know it's going to work.

Brambles
05-26-2008, 02:16 AM
Deboning Moose is the same as deboning any animal of the deer family, just a lot bigger.

If you have't deboned a deer then its hard to describe where to make your exact cuts, you don't want to just start cutting roast size chunks off.

But here it goes....

With the animal on its side, guts still in, no point in gutting the animal when doing this method.

Cut the hide up the back from the tail to the base of the horns, the hide is thick there but a good longer knife will make quick work of it.

Then
-Take your first backstrap off and put it directly in a game bag, lay it in the coolest spot you have at your disposal.

Skin the hide down the sides of the animal and down the front shoulder, cut the leg off at the knee, find the joint and it'll come right off.
Separate the front shoulder and put it right into a game bag and then in the cool spot.