PDA

View Full Version : Had fun but no bear down

rishu_pepper
05-24-2008, 08:42 PM
Met up with Lloyd (bsa30-06) bright and early in the morning and headed up to Lytton. We got there about 9:30, and a couple hours in we spotted a very good sized blackie. I'm no expert but I'd say he was pushing 6', but it had a ton of mass. Looking from top down at less than 100 yards away, he was feeding on a nice piece of lawn, but a gosh-darn tree just wouldn't allow us to take the shot without risk of ricochet. As we held our fire, it started to walk away from us, and my buddy only had a THS so obviously kept the trigger in check. We tried to track it down but to no avail...

Another hour or 2 afterwards, across from another hill we saw a brownie. It wasn't the largest bear (5' perhaps?), but it had an amazingly beautiful brown coat, and a very light beige muzzle that was unlike any bear I've seen. As a direct shot was 350-400 yards away, we drove downhill and tried to catch him stalking back up hill on another side. Unfortunately, as we caught sight of it again, it began to mosey away into the thick stuff and was never seen again... would've been a rug candidate for sure.

Driving back onto the local roads we saw another brownie, this time much smaller but was taunting us on the side of the road with his "immunity". The last bear we saw was a plain Jane blackie, quite the young 'un, and I said unto Lloyd, "Beggars can't be choosers", but as I got out of the truck, it already vanished...

We had a lot of fun up there though, so it was not all for naught. Saw a couple bucks too!

http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q7/rishu_pepper/DSC02434.jpg

http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q7/rishu_pepper/DSC02435.jpg

http://i132.photobucket.com/albums/q7/rishu_pepper/DSC02436.jpg

As you can see, even the buck was mooning us lol. Nice sets of velvet, and their sizes were pretty fair.

Oh and we saw a coyote on the median of #1 near the Surrey exit..!? :eek:

rishu_pepper