PDA

View Full Version : Cuttin' your own meat

Bailer
05-20-2008, 09:46 PM
So long story short, I thought I saw the big 300 pnder I saw the previous day, so I put a 180 grain between its eyes, but it turned out to be a small 150 pounder. I blame the adrenaline:p My dad's not huge into bear hunting, so he'll only pay for this ones meat. I still wanna go get the big one, and I dont have 150$ to spend on meat still, so any tips on cutting my own meat? I've watched the videos, and am debating on buying a grinder. Any tips would be appreciated! thanks

Also, I am in grage 11, and am taking a guide training camp this summer, and am thinking about hunting/fishing/horse camping guiding. Anyone who has guided or knows anything I'd love to here your advide/experiences!

05-20-2008, 11:05 PM
Bailer,
I have been hunting for 30 yrs. now. I have and will continue to cut my own game meat. The only time we don't is when we have one of those larger trips with several moose, elk, deer, bear or combinations that make it to much work. We cut all steaks, roasts, chops etc. bone free and fat free when posible as these areas just create a stronger taste some don't care for. Many butchers that do game refuse to cut meat with out bone in because of the work involved. We have followed old meat cuting guide books or articles. I usually just follow muscle lines, make some roasts and if you don't want that you can make them into steaks come cooking time. Smaller trim pieces are kept seperate and made into burger or sausage, of which we do many different types. Save your self some money for the next trip and cut it your self!
Buy freezer paper from the local butcher shop in large rolls or vac pack it.
Label it correctly with speicies, cut and date.
Go for it!
C/T

Mr. Dean
05-21-2008, 01:11 AM
You have the knowledge.... JUST DO IT!

You can rent grinders. See Stuffers in Langley.

hunter1947
05-21-2008, 03:09 AM