PDA

View Full Version : Pemberton bears

04-22-2008, 08:53 AM
So I'm going up to B&B with my girlfriend in pemberton this weekend and convinced her that we should go on looking for bears while were up there. I was up there for the pemberton wild life fundraser a while back and saw nothing. this is my first year hunting bears so I'm still learning what to do. Do you guys know of any spots I should check out in the pemberton area?
any help would be great. and you can PM me and I won't tell a sole.
thanks a lot.

John.

Gateholio
04-22-2008, 09:12 AM
Most of the FSR around here offer some bear opportunity. I've been seeing bears, everyone has been seeing bears....Not tonnes of them out yet, but they are there.

Pick a road and go for it. Walk up spur roads...

04-22-2008, 09:17 AM
do you know if the green river fsr is open yet? should i go up there,
or check out hurley river fsr area?
or up north to owl creek fsr, birkenhead fsr, and blackwater lake fsr.
I won't have enough time to go on a lot of roads, so I'm hoping for an educated guess on were to focus.

thanks man.

Gateholio
04-22-2008, 10:54 AM
Focus on the lower elevations...Higher up nothing has greened up yet. I think the Hurley is still snowed in, but maybe you could get to some lower areas around there.

04-22-2008, 11:35 AM
Try the Hurly Pass area, look at the log outs, Meager Creek area also, but as others have said the higher you go the less chance. The valley bottoms will have some bruins around but much is farm land and you'll need permission. Most farmers want them removed because of livestock issues. Call the local C/O office, they'll likely help a newbie.
C/T

04-23-2008, 08:40 PM
what about the green river fsr?
do you guys know if it is drivable yet? I know there was a large pile of snow right at the start of it.

Panda
04-23-2008, 11:11 PM
John,
1) join PWA
2) my sis and i are hitting up the range on friday then looking for bears in pemberton; gimmie a shout if you get somethin