PDA

View Full Version : Help on level-wind reels

huntwriter
04-13-2008, 08:35 AM
I purchased a level-wind reel and find that I am having some difficulty casting with it. This is my first attempt at using a level-wind. As of this writing I am still practicing with it in my backyard. Any advice on casting techniques to avoid “birds nest” and backlashes would be greatly appreciated.
Or if anyone lives near Maple Ridge and would be willing to personally tutor me for an hour or so to get the basics down that would be very much appreciated too.

Thanks.

Dirty
04-13-2008, 09:22 AM
Start short, meaning cast very small casts. Then work your way up. In addition, keep your thumb lightly on the spool at all times when starting. This way you can quickly stop the spool. Also there is an adustment knob on the side of the reel that adjusts free spool ie. more or less. Tighten it (do not over tighten) so that when you hold you rod up at about a 45 and take you thumb off the spool the weight coasts smoothly but not out of control to the ground. As you improve you can let the spool free wheel more and get better and further casts. Hope this stuff helps!

srupp
04-13-2008, 09:35 AM
hmmm what model/make...for starters turn up the spool tension so the line comes off with "some " resistence..so that when you cast the drum/spool stops without the overspooling backlash...get used to "resting " your thumb LIGHTLY on the line on the spool..as the lure gets towards the end of the cast slowly and gently and SMOOOOTHLY keep adding thumb pressure to smoothly stop the spool and prevent over spooling and rats nests..

You will not get much distance at first keep practicing...15-18 pound test is best for "practice" easier to undo the mistakes..;-)