PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie

BigBlaze
03-04-2008, 04:26 AM
Hey I'm Cole, I'm a trucker from langley bc. OK here goes, I got my hunting license and my firearms license 3 years ago. a few friends of mine are in the same boat. We used to go hunting with my friend's ex gf's dad up to bonaparte lake via the loon lake road. the exs dad has a cabin up there. My friend was successfull with a bull moose and a couple deer but that was around 4 years ago. My hunting buddies and i Have been heading back to this area to hunt for the past 2 and a half years because we know the area (the roads not the game) and have had no success. We usually camp at bog lake. sometimes in late sept early october, mostly around november long weekend. What i'm getting at basicly is what are other peoples experiences in this area? I've gone the past 2 years without so much as seeing a buck or moose. Needless to say I'm getting rather tired with the area and i'm looking to try something new. I was curious about horsefly but i dont know the area at all. should i give up hope on bonaparte? or should i try my luck at horsefly? sorry if this sounds a little jumbled, its 3:30 in the morning and i'm at work bored out of my skull. any thoughts/insight/wisdom would be much appreciated.

sincerly,
BigBlaze

hunter1947
03-04-2008, 05:14 AM
First of all welcome to this forum Big Blaze. It sounds like there are very few deer in that area you hunt. I would head it up to Horsefly there are lots of deer in that area and LEH moose draws. From Horsefly to likely it is good hunting ,look over the different spots in there and you will find a area that holds some good deer hunting. The end of Quesnel finger is a good ,north Arm is a good spot as well ,it is just past Likely.http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif.

Leaseman
03-04-2008, 06:23 AM