PDA

View Full Version : your thoughts on reagon 2 black tail

harder rd
02-24-2008, 01:00 AM
I have been chaseing black tails around for 10 years or so and am starting to think that they do not grow any bigger than a 3 pointer. any thoghts on spotting a big backtail? pic's would be cool to.

TIKA 300
02-24-2008, 01:04 AM
Have found 2 sets of 3 pts near Mission,and once seen a BEAUTIFUL 4 point on the side of road near Mission dump,before huntin season.TK

Gateholio
02-24-2008, 01:37 AM
I shot a region 2 4x4 and my buddy shot a HUGE 4x3 in 2007..they exist...

hunter1947
02-24-2008, 05:11 AM
There are lots of them around ,just have to be in the right place the right time.

srupp
02-24-2008, 08:45 AM
Hunter1947 is absolutley right in one aspect..the HUGE one I shot many moons ago was "being in the right place at the right time " THICK inpenatrable tangles and steep terrain"

HOWEVER....some guys ..AKA..T-BONE..gets lots of HUGE blacktails...because he studies them lives amongst them and climbs his way up to and into where the big ones hold out so his success ratio and size of animals harvested is the VERY best...I consider him THE best blacktail hunter out there..and hunting luck always plays a part of success..for T-Bone luck plays a very minor part..IMHO..

Steven

MichelD
02-24-2008, 11:41 AM
Saw one at a subdivision in Coquitlam and several at Minnekada and have shot one too.

Elkhound
02-24-2008, 12:17 PM
it's called put your time in. A weekend here and there usually does not do it. I used to go out 5 days a week all season for years and I still ony have 2 big 4+ blacktails

ruger#1
02-24-2008, 12:21 PM
Ive seen 4 point blacktails here, and it is always at the end of the season , when there is heavy snow on the mountains. They seem to want to stay up there till they are pushed down.

c.r.hunter
02-24-2008, 12:30 PM
Have a look through the BC book. Many of the biggest ones have come out of 2.

srupp
02-24-2008, 01:45 PM