PDA

View Full Version : Another IBEP Course - Lower Mainland

The Hermit
01-15-2008, 12:10 PM
The course is at the Port Coquitlam and District Hunting and Fishing Club commonly referred to as Burke Mountain. February 23 & 24, again cost is $50, and they can register with directly with Ted Kennedy the instructor at tedkennedy@shaw.ca (javascript:main.compose('new','t=tedkennedy@shaw. ca')) or at Boorman's Archery, Kyanne Archery, or Big Game Archery.

scorpio_21
01-16-2008, 01:14 AM
Hello Hermit, do you have any sort of information on what's covered in this course? And what is expected of the student (i.e. equipment/experience)?

I'm new to hunting and archery; having just received my BC Resident Hunter Number, and awaiting my PAL certification. As far as archery goes, I've been shooting for several months now with a compound bow and have been to a few ranges as well as two 3-D's in Burnaby and Abbotsford.

cheers,
Ashton

Awishanew
01-16-2008, 12:59 PM
The course teaches how to hunt and not blight the rest of bowhunters by poor choice of shots and a host of other things. You will certainly be glad you have taken it and it will help you imensly. One thing it is not, is a test to see how well you shoot. Hope this helps.

J_T
01-16-2008, 05:28 PM
Hi Scorpio,

Welcome to the world of archery and bowhunting. What you might find with the course is that it seems to aim at a bit more seasoned hunter. That doesn't mean a new hunters can't or shouldn't take the course, what I mean is the course talks a lot about experiences and sharing those experiences between the instructor and the participants.

You don't have to be able to shoot to take the course. There are a couple of other posts on the bowhunting section here that likely provide you an overview of the course and a web site.

It is an Internationally recognized course and provides us all guidance in becoming responsible hunters.