PDA

View Full Version : Warm weather february elk

Rotorwash
02-12-2024, 01:05 PM
I have a cow elk draw for 7-21. It's warm and there's no snow. Anyone have any tips or advice for finding them?

Thanks

TylerMc44
02-12-2024, 02:14 PM
night times your best bet id say :)))))))

Gr8 white hunter
02-12-2024, 03:42 PM
I believe it's called hunting, you need to hunt for them not ask people where they are and hold your hand

TheObserver
02-12-2024, 04:53 PM
I believe it's called hunting, you need to hunt for them not ask people where they are and hold your hand

Lol!!! .

Woodchuck Dan
02-12-2024, 11:52 PM
I have a cow elk draw for 7-21. It's warm and there's no snow. Anyone have any tips or advice for finding them?

Thanks

Congratulations on your draw - Hopefully you will get lucky and get some snow in region 7, we just (finally) got a dump in 4.

Since the season is abnormally warm they should be in lower elevations than normal, hey? I have little (read: no) experience hunting elk and I'm curious how you would go about looking for cows in Feb. I can only think of the obvious of covering as much ground as possible while looking for sign / cow calling.

Let us know how your hunt turns out. Hopefully someone with experience in this will chip in.

You may also find Remi Warren's podcast "Live Wild" be helpful, he has 20+ years experience hunting elk and gives some good information

Sharpish
02-13-2024, 09:44 AM
Cover as much ground as you can looking for fresh sign. Water sources and food sources are a good bet. These animals go wherever they want, you gotta find them yourself.

high horse Hal
02-13-2024, 10:29 AM
Usual tactic when we go to 7-20 is drive the roads until fresh sign is found, then go ask the landowner
Gone are the days of just going to the local bar and buying a few rounds to get friendly info

bcsteve
02-13-2024, 03:19 PM
It’s called a hunting forum where hunters share tips and discuss hunting.

SSG-man
02-13-2024, 03:48 PM