PDA

View Full Version : Day before opening. What’s your strategy?

savage10
08-31-2023, 03:38 PM
It’s almost that time. We head to to R4 on the 8th. Driving in and setting up camp.

This is my first time I will be arriving at a hunting area before opening day. What do you guys topically do the day before opener? This will be for elk and assuming you either haven’t been to the location before, or maybe you can only get there once per year (no boots on the ground scouting) due to distance.

If you were to get bugle responses, do you move in closer to verify if there’s a 6 point in the area or do you back out as to not pressure the elk?

Are you even calling? Or just hiking quietly looking for sign?

Let’s hear your strategies/suggestions.

Ron.C
08-31-2023, 04:43 PM
No expert here, but With only a day to scout, I'd be cautious. You definitely don't want to call a bull in and educate him nor do you want to push cows out of their area. With only a day, I'd be getting high and glassing large areas from a distance (if your country permits this), or driving around (if that is how you plan to hunt) and seeing if I could locate fresh sign in areas where there's small creeks adajacent to the road. To be honest, I'd be more interested in finding of cows from a distance then blasting away on a bugle trying to get an bull to answer.

good luck!!!!

Redthies
08-31-2023, 08:53 PM
My day before strategy involves waiting the 9 more days so I can use a rifle or shotgun instead of injury sticks!:lol: