PDA

View Full Version : Mule Deer Scouting Trip

Gianni2507
07-06-2023, 08:37 PM
Just came back from a "scouting" Trip, figured I'd try to write a Post about it!

I managed to escape from work for a couple of days, Since I don't have two days in a row a lot, we try to make every opportunity count! As I'm new to hunting in general, I figured why not try to make a regular overnight trip into a scouting mission for mule deer..

So on Google Earth I went to figure out where we'd want to go, unfortunately one area looks as good as the other to me.
I ended up choosing a Saddle/Pass between two valleys, with a creek running down one side and multiple lakes and tarns in the area. Right at the Treeline the area was a mix of small larches, forest up to the saddle and the sides and some open country in between.

http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/medium/SC_TRIP.jpg Blue Arrow -> Camping Spot, Green Line -> Approach

So Hiking we went, and after about 7,5km and 1000m Elevation Gain, arrived at our camping spot at around 2 pm in Cloudy but warm conditions, lots of bugs and no other people. Right away I startet glassing the Saddle with my Nikon 10x42, after a quick scan of the open Spaces of the Pass I looked at the Stuff above treeline to the south, where multiple little lakes and taverns are hidden, but it's quite a Reach for my budget glass...
http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/IMG_3434.jpg

In Reality there were way more trees than what I had gathered from Google Earth, but In my unexperienced Opinion relying solely on Books that I have read, It should have had every feature that a Mule Deer would want, from Cover to Water and Food.

http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/Sleeping_bags.jpg