PDA

View Full Version : New hunter - the more I scout, the more questions I have

nagetivekl
08-29-2022, 11:24 PM
Hi guys,

Short version:

I'm pretty new to hunting, tried my best to explore and scout, but I am feeling anxious about if I've been looking at the right places. I ve been trying to explore a wide range of terrain just to get a feel of different regions, but after a couple thousand kms in the mountains I feel kind of overwhelmed, there are just so much I do not know about.

I've seen more deer higher up in the mountains around the cut blocks but maybe that's because im scouting in the summer? I feel some lower altitude areas are sweat with some open grassland and more well spaced trees but the deer don't seem to be there, are they just not there YET? or am i just in the wrong place? why are there cows in the middle of nowhere lol??

Ive been to burn areas, do deer actually go there with so little cover? What kind of altitude should i be expecting them in Sep? Oct? Nov? Should i even try to hunt Sep in lower altitude areas or are they all still up there in the thick mountain bush?

I ve learned a lot by going into the mountains, but I always come back with more questions.

Longer version:

When I got my hunting license back in Apr I felt that hunting season is too far away. Now I wish I had more time to prepare. I didn't get to spend as many days on logging roads as i wanted to, but between work and the borderline prohibitive fuel prices I went out as much as i could.