PDA

View Full Version : pine beetle and habitat

thinkingman
11-15-2007, 02:33 PM
has anyone else thought about pine beetle infestation and the change in habitat?

i've been in 5-02 over the years (spring bear hunting) and have noticed the pine beetle coming... and then arrive in the area we've been in. Next i noticed a low bush that i figured out was saskatoon berries... browsed down to about 30 inches from the ground. it's spreading like mad, and seems to be providing browse for moose. i'm now seeing moose sign in a semi-arid area that used to hardly have any sign in it.

i'm no forest scientist, but from my observations i see more browse and graze for deer and moose in areas that have had pine beetle kill. seems to me the pine beetle may result in the growth of habitat for ungulate species as they adapt to the devastation visited on mature forests.

while many of the environmenatlists keep saying the sky is falling regarding the pine beetle infestation, i'm seeing adaptation by plants and animals. (and i'm not discounting the grief this is causing logging and the communiities that rely on logging in the interior)

anyone else observing changes in specific areas?

Mr. Dean
11-15-2007, 02:42 PM
Without a doubt it's going to open up new habitat. What makes it scary is when all the pine tree's are gone, what are the beetles goin to do next?

Not to mention the extinction of a natural species of BC.

Fisher-Dude
11-15-2007, 03:01 PM
I was up in reg 5 last weekend and was amazed by the devastation...I've seen 70 - 80% attack before, but 100% attack was new to me. Some reserve strips look like they have been burnt with the death of every tree.