PDA

View Full Version : Boot care

Redman86
11-21-2021, 10:51 PM
Wondering what everyone uses for boot care on leather boots? I have new pair of hanwags that came with “hanwag” wax but was wondering if there is better options out there or what others use

Treed
11-21-2021, 11:08 PM
I’ve tried a lot of different boot care products. By the the best is Obenaufs. Compared to Nixwax I find it lasts longer and keeps the leather in better condition.

digger dogger
11-22-2021, 06:51 AM
X2 Obenaufs
Cabelas sells it now.

geologist
11-22-2021, 08:38 AM
SnoSeal and a hairdryer or heatgun.

Brno22F
11-22-2021, 01:50 PM
Also have Hanwag boots and have used up a can of the Hanwag wax. I read the label on the Hanwag wax product and it is largely bees wax. So is SnoSeal. A big can of SnoSeal is way less pricey than a small can of Hanwag product.
I have been using the method described by Geologist for a few years now. Works just fine.

Greenthumbed
11-22-2021, 06:19 PM
Another vote for snoseal and the heat gun. It’s the best way to get the wax and oils to penetrate. Otherwise the treatment doesn’t last anywhere near as long. I’ve been using Snoseal since I can remember. It is a very good product and you can find it just about everywhere.

landphil
11-22-2021, 06:34 PM
And here I thought that I came up with the idea of using a heat gun to soak in the SnoSeal. Ha! Great minds think alike. And small minds seldom differ. I’ve been doing that for years to my boots and leather work gloves, etc. My hands sure are soft for a while after too. :D

Now, how many of you fellow geniuses (or is it genieii??) wax their snow shovels so snow doesn’t stick in them?

wlbc
11-22-2021, 06:48 PM
Over the years I've tried about everything. I just use plain old bees wax - not paraffin wax. Heated up and rubbed in, works great.

TARCHER
11-22-2021, 06:51 PM
Tried most but Obenaufs is seriously good. That said on my lowa boots I use the lowa products which work great too.

swampthing
11-22-2021, 07:07 PM