PDA

View Full Version : Camp etiquette

MikeSlayer
08-16-2021, 08:26 PM
Hi all,

I have a quick question on campsite etiquette. To preface, I am fairly new to hunting with less than a year under my belt. This summer I have been scouting an area that I am interested in hunting this fall. Last trip out, I found what appeared to be an excellent campsite. It was flat, there were no fire-rings or meat hanging poles but there was a stack of recently cut rounds of wood. There was no signage but it dawned on me that someone, maybe a guide, might be setting this camp up for the fall. The area was a very long hike in and I am thinking that in order to have brought a chainsaw in there, they must have packed it in by horse. I have heard rumours, on this forum and even from a CO, that people (especially guides) can get fairly angry with others in "their area".

My question is: If I go there in the fall and it is vacant would it be ethical to camp there. If so, what are your thoughts should someone turn up and claim that it is their camp?

Obviously, if I got there and it was occupied I would move along and give whoever was there first space.

Thanks!

chilcotin hillbilly
08-16-2021, 09:09 PM
As a guide , I would have no problem with you being there if you found the spot before I showed up. I might just join you at the campfire and set up a tent as well. I enjoy meeting people from all over BC.
That being said you should replace any fire wood you use, or cut your own. If someone has gone to that effort you should respect that.
If the wood appears to have been there for several years. I would go right a head and use it up. In this case it appears to have been cut this year.
Good luck on your hunt.

longwalk
08-16-2021, 09:50 PM
As a guide , I would have no problem with you being there if you found the spot before I showed up. I might just join you at the campfire and set up a tent as well. I enjoy meeting people from all over BC.