PDA

View Full Version : Scouting for Blacktails

Sconhunt
08-09-2021, 09:20 PM
This will be my first season hunting big game and would love some tips for scouting for blacktails (I'm located in Squamish area).
So far I've been driving up logging roads and parking the truck, then hiking to some clear cuts and generally looking for sign (pretty much walking with my head down scanning for tracks)

One area had some deer tracks (I think probably a doe but I'm still new to this so not 100% sure) and a tonne of Black bear shit.
Should I just continue doing this and hope the bucks will be there come september?
Should I focus on that one area that I saw tracks?

I know that I'm a complete begginer and I'm fully prepared to get skunked on my first season or two but any tips that help the learning curve would be greatly appreciated!

VLD43
08-09-2021, 10:48 PM
Buy a good set of binoculars and go out and glass, glass glass. You will see more deer moving around less and spending more time looking. Best of luck

ccrcc
08-09-2021, 11:52 PM
this time of year yer looking for where the deer will be in the fall.
look for established game trails and pick a few areas or draws and learn them inside and out.
learn where they bed down at the tops of cuts so you can glass em up from the bottem when the time comes.
learn where you can get to quietly, up creeks, through open bush, old roads, and stuff like that where you will still hunt in the fall.
you may see a few deer now, but things change bigtime.
good that you're prepared to be skunked, but be prepared not to if yer cards are played right.

caddisguy
08-10-2021, 06:20 PM
Virtually every mountain, every valley and every drainage holds deer. It's finding those sneaky blacktails that is the hard part.