PDA

View Full Version : Help with scouting Grouse and Deer

RiverOrange
06-30-2021, 04:28 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm new to hunting, just got my license and I'm trying to look for spots with animals before the season starts.

For grouse: I have driven down a couple of FSRs slowly in the mainland and on the island and haven't had any luck spotting any yet. For the mainland specifically I am not sure how far away from Vancouver I need to be to start seeing grouse. If anyone can recommend some FSRs for me to look down or general areas where they are populated within 3 hours drive of Vancouver or other tips I would really appreciate it.

For Deer: How do I find them? For grouse I've heard people try the FSRs, but not really sure where to start with deer. Have just been driving around areas that I know deer exist and try to find a spot to enter the bush. An issue with this is terrain. The few places I've tried had very rough terrain. Are there any spots in BC I can scout where the terrain is not as rough?

Also, if anyone has any beginner advice for me I would greatly appreciate it.

upperleftcoaster
06-30-2021, 09:38 PM
i saw a lot of grouse this spring already across the province. good dry spring. if they don't get bbq'd by the fires, pick a road and start walking.

HarryToolips
06-30-2021, 09:42 PM
A lot of times you will find grouse on the roads yes, but they like mixed forests as well, and it's fun to hike around for them...you'll hear them bolt then try to catch a glimpse of them, and what tree they roost in after they initially fly from you..then many times they'll be sitting ducks..they also like regrown older cutblocks with trees 20-30 feet high...

For deer, you know they need to bed, feed, and water - find the habitat, find the sign..

waserwolf
07-01-2021, 08:02 AM
I find the best time of day to find Grouse on Roads is early morning and late evening.