PDA

View Full Version : Remember your first big game shot?

RainyLaker
05-27-2021, 10:21 AM
I'm a total big game newb. I've been out for bear a number of times this spring and had one come in behind me at 20 yards that I didn't hear or see until he was moving off into the brush. I half heartedly chased after him then ran back to my truck.

Last fall, my buddy took a series of 10+ photos of a mulie doe and 4 point buck humping at 25 yards without taking a shot with his 30.06. I couldn't believe him and neither the rest of us until we saw the pics. Got me to wondering what that first shot is actually like. I couldn't understand why he didn't shoot.

Please tell me your stories of your first big game shot and maybe what it took to get through that first one, confidently or not.

Fella
05-27-2021, 10:52 AM
First big game was an old black bear. He was eating grass at the edge of a meadow 30 yards off the road. I got out and pointed my rifle at him but didn’t like the shot placement he offered so hesitated. He then turned and went into the bush and I followed him in. Looking back probably a bad idea because it pissed him off. Finally he turned in a clearing and stood his ground. I was 10 yards away and squeezed the trigger.

MichelD
05-27-2021, 10:58 AM