PDA

View Full Version : Population Of Elk ,EK.

hunter1947
11-03-2007, 07:14 AM
How many elk hunters out there think that the population has increased in the EK in the last 8 year????. This was after they implemented the six point season.:?:. :roll:.

Jonny outdoors
11-03-2007, 07:34 AM
I went hunting Elk hunting this year for the first time and I saw eight in four days.My partner and my self call two small bulls in to thirty yards from us and had them calling back and thrashing the bushes it was one of my best hunts

model88
11-03-2007, 07:45 AM
I have been hunting elk in the East Kootenays for many years now and in my opinion, yes the elk herd has increased, both in numbers and size of bulls.

Before the 6 point rule you were happy with shooting a 5 point, if you could find one. 6 points were big news back then. The early cow seasons and the harsh winters did a number on cows and calfs as well.

Now I hear you guys saying how you don't see many legal bulls. They are out there, but lately there has been a lot more pressure. Five, ten fifteen years ago, there wasn't near as many hunters making the trip here to hunt. I believe the bulls are being pushed deeper, changing their habits and becoming call wary.

Just an opinion:smile:

TGF
11-03-2007, 08:51 AM
Increasing every year for sure. I keep seeing more and more in areas where you would not see them in past.

rocksteady
11-03-2007, 08:51 AM
I think the population is wayup, especially in the trench...

Not to get a huge debate started here but I feel a lot of that has to do with the cattle taking a huge amount of the elks forage away in the summer, as well as the high elk fences being put up on farmers fields, so the elk have adapted to live in the unclaimed middle ground...

11-03-2007, 11:43 AM
The elk population in the EK is probably near to, or over, carrying capacity and agriculture land depredation levels are the highest ever.

Everyone interested in hunting in the EK should look at this: