PDA

View Full Version : Once in a Lifetime - 2020 Roosevelt Elk

jesse
02-19-2021, 06:49 PM
I apologize for the delay in writing about my experience from my 2020 Vancouver Island LEH Roosevelt Elk hunt, as you may know, work and life seem to always get in the way.

Before I start, I want to give a big shout out to the following individuals, who in some way or another helped me plan, prepare, and assist in my once in a lifetime hunt:

@Floden

@NMO

@Rob Chipman

@Darksith

**and my friends on Vancouver Island*

As mentioned in a previous post, I am relatively new to the hunting world, as such I was humbled by all of the support I received from various hunters, many of who I had never even met before, but yet were willing to take the time out of their busy schedules to give me their sage advice.

So to back up a little bit, I was drawn for a 2020 LEH Roosevelt Elk draw on Vancouver Island. The odds were 115:1, so I knew (and was told by everyone I talked to) that this was going to be one of those “once in a lifetime” type hunts. I knew I had to put my all into this, everything from preparing, scouting, and “putting boots on the ground”. I figured that if I didn’t put my best foot forward, regardless if I got anything or not, it would haunt me for the rest of my life. As famously said by Hunter S. Thompson – “anything worth doing, is worth doing right”.

As such, during the summer I spent time at the range practicing my “long range” shots at 200 yards +, scouring google maps for every possible drainage and mountain side that may hold elk, reading B.C. elk biology reports, and finally making trips out to Vancouver Island (I might add that I had just started a new full-time job and had only two weeks of vacation to use). The first trip, I got totally skunked and didn’t see a single elk (until on the car ride home on the side of the highway). However, on second trip out in September during the rut, I met up with some friends, and were able to put glass on some bulls.