PDA

View Full Version : Shooting sticks / tripods / bipods

Onchy
01-30-2021, 12:40 PM
Hi all,

I am in the market for an a field optic/shooting rest of sorts. Preferably a do all situation to keep pack loads light, and would appreciate hearing from peoples experiences in the field.
Glassed up a solid buck last year during November, but blew my opportunity for a clear view due to buck fever and the shakes (fairly new self taught hunter). Just couldn't get my binos settled and confirm the 4th sticker or not so I watched him wander off.

Currently looked at the vortex tripods online but have heard they are somewhat flimsy. Seems they have a new line out although quite pricey - im ok with that, kinda of a buy once cry once person if worth it.
Not huge on a rifle mounted bipod due to weight and imbalance when in timber
Was looking at the primus shooting sticks, but have heard the trigger freezes in cold temps.

Anyone have a reliable favorite that they would recommend checking out? Or any major pro's/con's?

Jamesonm
01-30-2021, 12:42 PM
I have a digi manfrotto that it quite light and pretty stable. it's old but still work for me. i also made my own DIY gun rest out of some pvc and soft rubber that clips into the tripod like the spotter.

Jagermeister
01-30-2021, 12:56 PM
Get a extendable hiking pole. Cabelas, comes with a fork type top as well as the regular round one. Serves two purposes..

ROY-alty33
01-30-2021, 01:16 PM
BogPod
You will not regret it!

whitlers
01-30-2021, 06:54 PM
I use a Sirui tripod and VA-5 head with an outdoorsman adapter for my binos. If I can't find a rest or shoot of my pack I can shoot off the tripod as is. That being said I have wanted to add a shooting yoke to my tripod for more control.

The tripod is quite light but sturdy enough for the weight. I would go with something a bit stouter next time.

Would highly recommend the outdoorsman bino adapter. Glassing with your binos off a tripod is a game changer.

Onchy
01-30-2021, 09:41 PM