PDA

View Full Version : Crayfish with Kids in LML?

Would Rather Be Fishing
12-17-2020, 12:16 PM
I guess for this year it's a bit late for Crayfish, but next year I thought of taking my little ones out for crayfishing? I have never done it before, but from what I read, it should be an ideal trap-fishery for kids?

We tried crabbing, but without a boat, all the good spots are flooded with asian groups with umbrellas and picnic tables from Sunrise to Sundown. From what I figure, there is a higher chance to find some "quiet spots" with crayfishing? True or false?

I am in the lower mainland, so I figured I try Hatzic slough or maybe stave river?

Anyone have any recommendations for easy access (5 year olds) spots that are not totally overrun that kids can have a fun time? Maybe spend a day there? 4x4ing to the location is totally ok.

Again, never gone crayfishing myself, so any guidance is appreciated.

RICKADY
12-17-2020, 03:33 PM
I've seen some nice one's come out of the lower Vedder from the canal down,
was told the Dewdney had some too.

sparkes3
12-17-2020, 04:44 PM
Try Jones lake
great spot for a trip in the day use area

fourbyfourtoy
12-17-2020, 04:48 PM
Jones lake is full of them. Your best bet for sure. 25 a day no problem. Better if you soak overnight. I heard there was a commercial fishery for them on the Harrison River. Good luck!

Arctic Lake
12-17-2020, 05:03 PM
I think Caddis on HBC is big on crayfish ! I’m sure he will be along ! I have caught them on the Pitt River years ago , they were pretty tasty . I’d like to try going for them again some time !
Arctic Lake

Steeleco
12-17-2020, 05:03 PM
We used to drop a trap under the railway bridge where the Stave flows into the Fraser, sadly that's when i had a boat

Livewire322
12-17-2020, 06:20 PM