PDA

View Full Version : Questions about scopes

joshbazz
12-15-2020, 11:42 AM
Well, finished my 3rd fall hunting season with tag soup, so deciding to work on my rifleman skills. I'm trying to decide what scope would be best for my purposes. I enjoy hiking, and hunting by spot and stalk, and also still hunting in thick woods, though I'm still a beginner at both.

I have a 30-06 and 12 Gauge. I plan on working on my shotgun game for still hunting in the woods for deer/bear within 100 yds, with possible obstacles like thin branches, and putting a low power scope on it. I plan on hiking elevation with my '06 and glassing to find mule deer or elk (or moose). I have a vortex viper 3-9x40 with bdc and a leupold FX-3 6x42 with german 4.

Right now the viper is on the '06, but I was thinking of putting the fx-3 on it, and either putting the viper on the 12G set to 3 power, or selling/trading it for a lower power scope.

I love the eye relief of the leupold, over 4 inches, where my vortex is 3.5. As a new shooter, I appreciate the leppy's eyebox, and I also hear it helps with closer range if you shoot with both eyes open, as I'm training to do. I also like that it's a fixed scope, so less things to break and keeps things simple in terms of fiddling with zoom when it's time to shoot (still haven't harvested a big game animal). But I'm wondering if I should sell/trade the fx-3 for a vx-3i 2.5-8x36 for more use options. Or selling/trading both scopes for a higher end variable and learning to shoot the 12G without a scope (doesn't have one mounted right now).

I'm sure others have gone through this process many times before, would appreciate any advice or wisdom to help me with my decision.

Cheers,

Josh

BCBRAD
12-15-2020, 12:46 PM