PDA

View Full Version : Sunshine Coast Blacktails?

Nailgunslinger
10-24-2007, 08:55 PM
Just wondering if anyone is hunting Blacktails on the sunshine coast and what they've seen so far. I saw one buck (after hours):frown: in 10 morns/nights of hunting slashes , clearcuts , and mountaintops. 3 Does though >< lol. Not even 1 grouse! I have seen enough black bears to have made me go and buy a tag today haha. Where are all the friggin deer! I see sign everywhere, but no legal houred bucks. Ack this is my first time hunting in the area for blackies and I guess I just want someone to tell me there are still bloody deer here? :frown::!:

CooperSscat
10-24-2007, 09:13 PM
Ya I feel your pain as I've been skunked 10 plus times in the past couple of seasons down here on the coast looking for blacktails. At least you have a chance of seeing a buck as you're out and about in the woods. Heck you may even tag out with a black bear. That won't happen if you're stuck at home glued to the tube. Good luck to you.

Jeremy

scottgreen
10-24-2007, 09:14 PM
i have lived in Sechelt all of my 14 years and I have not seen many blacktails in legal areas. Most locals dont even try ;) . Good luck though + I think if you try hard enough you will bag one!

BANG!
10-24-2007, 09:24 PM
I've been watching the bucks here on Bowen for the past six months. Studying the little buggers quite closely (and a few big ones too) so I could get a good insight and feel for their movements.

About two or three weeks ago, all the bucks seemed to just vanish. Instead of seeing one buck for every three or four does or younguns, now I'm lucky to spot 1 for every 20.

I wonder if they move onto higher ground at this time of year (only to move down over the next month or two when the colder weather brings some snow). :? ? ... or do they just restrict their movements to the dark hours?

I can tell you though, that you're not the only one wondering where the bucks have gone.

Nailgunslinger
10-24-2007, 10:29 PM