PDA

View Full Version : 20gauge or .410 for first shotgun?

Bustercluck
09-28-2020, 10:43 AM
I’m sure this question has been asked many times, but here it goes.

I’m thinking about getting my 11 year old a shotgun with the intentions of going after grouse. From the reading I’ve done it seems like most people lean towards a 20 gauge as a starter gun, because it takes less skill to be proficient with it.

I was thinking of a 410 crack barrel, but I don’t have a lot of experience with shotguns.

I’d also like to hear if there’s a particular model out there that is better than the others for whatever reason.

MichelD
09-28-2020, 10:53 AM
I'm no expert and I don't even shoot grouse any more, but I have missed plenty (close up) with the 410 due to the small shot pattern. The 410 always worked better for me at a little distance. The 20 gauge also has light recoil and puts out more shot. My Ithaca Model 37 20 gauge does kick quite bit though due to its light weight, so consider the model of shotgun you get for your 11 year old. A good discussion in the gun shop would be good.

BimmerBob
09-28-2020, 10:57 AM
Nothing wrong technically with either choice for grouse. Some things to consider are that the choice of a 20 will offer less expensive shells over the .410 so will make practice less costly and may increase trigger time if that is a concern. Also, the twenty will allow a larger choice of game in future with it being more effective for other upland game, ducks and even geese being possible. If you decide, the twenty is pretty effective for deer with rifled slugs when in range.

The .410 is deadly on grouse though and is a pleasure to shoot for even the most recoil-averse shooters and if you have the space always nice to have in the arsenal.

VLD43
09-28-2020, 11:21 AM