PDA

View Full Version : back from 8-05 (no kills)

twoSevenO
10-19-2007, 10:54 PM
What a great day to be out there. Pelting rain down here, nice fluffy snow up there. It was a good scouting day for this new to me area, but i got some questions ... and remember, i'm just a newbie here :D

1. Where are the grouse? Has the snow made them nest under a tree somewhere for a while, or is this area too high elevation wise for them? shouldn't be...

2. If you follow a set of tracks, to what looks like a bedding spot under a tree, then even fresher tracks leading from it, you've most likely spooked yourself a deer (doh!) What do you do? Do you follow the tracks in hopes of getting a good look eventually? Or do you stop, circle around to where you think the deer might be headed?

Thanks guys

BCJunior
10-20-2007, 09:30 AM
#1 - I'm not too sure I have not really hunted grouse in the snow before.

#2 - This could be a hard one, I decided to follow the tracks of a huge white tail buck for about an hour and I thought the tracks were perfectly fresh but I guess I was wrong, I honestly would follow for a good 10 minutes or until you can see a good 100-200 ft infront of you rather if its down a mountain or an open field if you cannot see any life after 10 minutes way in front of you the chances are it was spooked or they are old tracks in that case I would circle around.

twoSevenO
10-20-2007, 11:48 PM
cool, thanks for your input ... anyone else got pointers? :grin:

NightOwl74
10-21-2007, 04:41 AM
What a great day to be out there. Pelting rain down here, nice fluffy snow up there. It was a good scouting day for this new to me area, but i got some questions ... and remember, i'm just a newbie here :D

1. Where are the grouse? Has the snow made them nest under a tree somewhere for a while, or is this area too high elevation wise for them? shouldn't be...