PDA

View Full Version : Princeton bear

lakelander
04-27-2020, 08:25 AM
Went looking for bear up Copper Mountain/Willis FSR over the weekend around Princeton. Saw nothing, no scat, no bear. This is my first year for bear - is it too early? Oddly there was nobody else around over the weekend. If anyone knows the area, please tell me if it's too early as we might try this weekend too. Thanks

RackStar
04-27-2020, 08:45 AM
Id wait 2 more weeks myself.

best bang for buck is may long weekend - mid June I’ve noticed.

Crixus
04-27-2020, 08:57 AM
Hey I was up there as well (Friday) hoping to find some bear sign. Same thing. No scat anywhere. Seems a bit early, a lot of the roads weren't accessible due to snow. There weren't too many fresh greens out.

lakelander
04-27-2020, 09:04 AM
I did see a big cougar though which was pretty awesome. I figured that it is probably a little too early. Still lots of snow, had to turn around several times but was a good weekend to get out of the house and enjoy a campfire and a few brews.

Iron Glove
04-27-2020, 09:11 AM
Son lives in Princeton, we have a place in Tulameen.
He's waiting a bit before heading out for Spring Bear, still lots of snow in the hills, many roads are still pretty crappy.
Lots of bears wandering around the Streets of Princeton but the Townfolk frown upon shooting them. :mrgreen:
Haven't seen any signs at all around Tulameen.

weatherby_man
04-27-2020, 10:32 AM
Love the enthusiasm to get out,,,,,,but probably too early.

browningboy
04-27-2020, 01:57 PM
Look for big south facing slopes with grass..

charlie_horse
04-27-2020, 02:06 PM
Lots of bears being seen and I know of quite a few that have been dropped. Get out there!

caddisguy
04-27-2020, 04:43 PM
Not sure about Princeton, but we have been out camping a couple times times casually looking around in Region 2.

Conditions are 2-3 weeks behind what they normally are but starting to catch up quickly so it might not be that long.