PDA

View Full Version : New Bison Zones ?!

JustinG
04-23-2020, 01:43 PM
Was just about to enter for Bison and quickly realized that the zones have changed. Totally removed the south side of the Halfway Valley (removing McQue Flats). Those who have done this hunt know what that means. Gone from North / South zones to East / West. This is a really bizarre change?!? Anyone have insight on why?

pg83
04-23-2020, 01:51 PM
I have a few guesses, but will need to see the new regs at the end of June to be sure.

JustinG
04-23-2020, 01:56 PM
Just looking at it there is no point in even going through Pink Mountain ranch anymore. Maybe that is the point... it's a brand new hunt again.

browningboy
04-23-2020, 02:09 PM
There's rumor of a short GOS on the bison, I'm really hoping for that draw as I've been putting in since 1995!

charlie_horse
04-23-2020, 02:27 PM
Rumors of a bison open season.

Pocahontas
04-23-2020, 02:35 PM
I hope I get a draw this year but this is also interesting...

https://apps.nrs.gov.bc.ca/ahte/content/implement-bison-gos-and-amend-leh-zone-boundaries

Ltbullken
04-23-2020, 02:37 PM
There is supposed to be some GOS zones coming so we won't likely see them on LEH I'm thinking. Could always give the regional biologist a call to enquire.

JustinG
04-23-2020, 02:43 PM
Thanks Pocahontas, that is some great info.

Darksith
04-23-2020, 04:57 PM
how would one even hunt the western region? Would have to be all on horseback basically no? The HR trail does go into the very southern part, and I guess the northern part has redfern trail...is there another way in there that I don't know of?

264mag
04-23-2020, 05:18 PM
I have put in for this for 15 years and have always applied for zone b in the hope that one could rent the cabins. Are they in the new d zone now? This could be a game changer for this draw.

Mudsey
04-23-2020, 07:02 PM