PDA

View Full Version : Region 8 Mule deer

GEF
01-04-2020, 08:44 PM
I spent the holidays at my cabin in region 8 near Princeton .It was encouraging to see the numbers of wintering deer on the south facing slopes .The same hill sides were void of sign in years gone by.Good to see!
I spend a lot of time scouting from July to mid November ,that is 3 or 4 days a week in the bush.
I saw a lot more mature and immature bucks this year than any other in recent memory.Far less wolf sign too. Fingers crossed it stays that way .

bigredchev
01-04-2020, 09:08 PM
I’m new to region 8 but i do see a large amount of fawns and does which I’ve been told is a good sign from the more seasoned generation. There has to be growth and replenishing

HarryToolips
01-04-2020, 09:38 PM
Good to hear....I'm seeing ok mule deer pops where I am, though im concerned with the talk of wolf sightings in my area...I covered a lot of ground today, and they have definitely been pushed down lower due to accumulating snow up high...we just really need development on winter range to slow down..

RyoTHC
01-04-2020, 10:04 PM
I’ve noticed the same with the white tail around that area, strong numbers. I didn’t spend a tonne of time chasing Mulies so I saw less this year than usual but I see no reason why they wouldn’t be capitalizing as well.. let’s hope for lots and lots of healthy twins this spring.

REMINGTON JIM
01-04-2020, 11:05 PM
That's GREAT News Gary - Now your gonna have Hunters all over your Spot ! :tongue: RJ

358mag
01-04-2020, 11:11 PM
That's GREAT News Gary - Now your gonna have Hunters all over your Spot ! :tongue: RJ
You saying we have a few gut pile hunters on line :lol:

GEF
01-05-2020, 05:09 AM
There already is. You need street lights on the logging roads on the weekends.Most guys are glued to a seat and the game are getting smarter so they stick to the timber and xmas trees .
Just nice to see some recovery .

REMINGTON JIM
01-05-2020, 09:42 AM