PDA

View Full Version : Recommend a Butchering Knife Set

dak0ta
12-11-2019, 11:06 PM
Any recommendations on a quality knife set for butchering ducks to moose? Victorinox or Zwilling Henckels?

stixnstones
12-11-2019, 11:23 PM
Hit up stuffers in Langley off Fraser Hwy. There great n have everything you need.

pin_head
12-11-2019, 11:25 PM
I’ve got a victorinox set that I’ve been really happy to have for butchering and for everyday kitchen use. I used their knives as well when I was guiding on the ocean and filleting a dozen plus fish a day. I’m no expert but they seem great for the price point and are super easy to put an edge on once they dull.

Brad

saskbooknut
12-12-2019, 07:15 AM
Cabela's Henkels commercial set with yellow handles is a good buy when on sale at $99.

RyoTHC
12-12-2019, 08:38 AM
Cabela's Henkels commercial set with yellow handles is a good buy when on sale at $99.

it’s currently on sale for 99

dak0ta
12-12-2019, 08:38 AM
Ok thanks will look into those brands. Seems like Henckels and Victorinox are the common ones.

tigrr
12-12-2019, 08:42 AM
I have a large set of Victorinox for our moose butchering group. I do pick up the odd knife at thrift stores if the steel sounds good. I must have about 50 butcher knives by now. Next is buy a good stone sharpening devise. Last is a good long steel for touch ups during butchering.
I can keep 5 people with my knives happy through a moose with my high end none knurled steel doing touch ups. Pull the sharp edge back and then dress it. Watch a video about dragging the knife backwards on the steel then drawing it forwards on the steel.

tim.l
12-12-2019, 09:29 AM
I have the henckels set from cabelas. It's done 2 deer and half a cow in the last 2 years and I really like it. Can't speak for any of the other brands though.

adriaticum
12-12-2019, 09:33 AM
Hit up stuffers in Langley off Fraser Hwy. There great n have everything you need.

Yah this.

I vote for Victorinox

dak0ta
12-12-2019, 10:35 AM