PDA

View Full Version : How to judge if the game goes down?

rollingrock
10-04-2007, 10:36 AM
Speaking of game recovery, I've watched some hunting videos, and most of them were shot in the States. Quite often in those videos hunters were sitting on a tree stand and waiting for the quarry to show up. Once the shots fired or arrows released most times the game would run crazy. Then when they heard the tree branch crushing deep in the bush they would start celebrating with hi fives. Now I've never been in that situation, so I have no experience in judging if the game goes down in that scenario. But how can you tell that crushing sound was caused by downed game?

Gateholio
10-04-2007, 10:51 AM
Sometimes you can hear them fall over.

Bow Walker
10-04-2007, 10:55 AM
Most of the time in those cases the animal in question goes over and starts it's death throes - ie. The Funky Chicken. What they hear is all the underbrush being kicked and broken/disturbed. It's quite the distinctive sound.

rollingrock
10-04-2007, 11:09 AM
I know animals like deer or bear can move quietly and fast in thick bush, but sometimes when they panick you can hear a lot of crushing sound all the way up. Like I jumped a huge blacktail buck (one of the biggest I've ever seen) at very close range in thick dark bush the other day and both of us were surprised. He ran up that way, I rolled down the hill in the other direction, only because that crushing sound was so enormous that I thought that was a bear charging at me. By the time both of us stopped we were over 100 yards apart, and he stopped at sky line for a second and took off. :D

Now back to the topic, so my understanding is that when the game is just shot, it could still run as usual and you can bearly hear anything. And then you hear disturbance/crushing somewhere in the bush. So logically you may draw the conclusion that the game is down?

diggerpax
10-04-2007, 03:57 PM