PDA

View Full Version : using a diaphragm elk call

Dale
10-04-2007, 09:01 AM
I'm heading out for elk next week, first time for elk, and so I bought a diaphragm elk call, but I'm having some trouble getting the right sounds to come out. can someone run me through how to use it properly and any little tricks i might be missing? thnks in advance

BlacktailStalker
10-04-2007, 09:07 AM
Unfortunately there is no little tricks. Only time and practice will help.
I've been using one for over 2 years and I'm still fine tuning each sound.
I'd steer clear of the diaphram and go with a slide call or hootchie mama kind of deal.
I find the new ones arent really "broken in" for days, and that's after you're good with one.
Good luck on your trip!

diggerpax
10-04-2007, 09:10 AM
it's a hard concept to explain- before season I keep one in my car and practice all the time (my wife doesn't exactly enjoy me calling in the house) I only use a diaphragm to cow call, and find the single ried the easiest to use. Primos makes a call with a little orange piece that is easy too- i'll try and add the pic. Buy a couple "Primos the truth" hunting videos and listen to them call- they are very good. I called a 6 point into my dad with a diaphragm this year- the pics are in the gallery. Hope this helps.
https://shop.primos.com/images/CATEGORY/icon/17.jpg (https://shop.primos.com/c-17-mouth-calls.aspx)

diggerpax
10-04-2007, 09:15 AM
Blacktail stalker has a great point if you're just learning- hoochie mamma works and is simple to use- you can't vary the sound or sweet-talk with it, but you won't sound like a dying rabbit either. I've also done well using a hyper-hot. Another to never forget is don't EVER call when a bull is in sight unless you are already blown or just trying to stop him. Bulls can pinpoint exactly where a sound comes from- when he sees there's no elk, he'll slowly walk away.

SHAKER
10-04-2007, 09:16 AM