PDA

View Full Version : Harvested a decent Whitetail this past weekend.

Rieber
11-25-2019, 12:07 PM
This guy gave me the slip 2 weekends ago so buddy and I went out again to the same spot since the deer sign there is so magnificent. Amazing amount of rubs and scrapes and trails and tracks and loads of scat drops everywhere, yet this weekend we didn't see many deer - I'm figuring they were just a little further off than we ventured to.

So fairly early Saturday morning we crossed the river and headed into the area that I've been keeping secret for over thirty years now - some big boys in there and have scored one or two every year I've gone into there.

Couple weeks ago deer were everywhere, signs everywhere but only the does were hanging around long enough to observe. It was clear that the bucks weren't chasing the girls yet. I did catch the glimpse of one in the trees and with the time consumed verifying antlers, I was too slow on the draw and a good 5-point slipped away from me through the trees. I thought I could get a poke at him as he exited the trees and I anticipated where he would come out but I anticipated incorrectly and he popped out and crossed the trail 20 feet over and I didn't get the shot. I followed him in the direction he went only to see his back end slip away into dense brush again. He wasn't spooked and I didn't push him but funny to observe him crouching and sneaking away. First time I witnessed this.

We decided to give the spot a bit of a rest the following weekend and decided to return on the 23rd. This was the day I shot my last one there last year. So we returned and only saw one doe upon approaching the area. Watched her and the surroundings for a while but no Mr's lurking about - weird.