PDA

View Full Version : East Kootenay firewood

Frank grimes
09-26-2019, 10:14 AM
I’m new to the whole wood stove/fireplace thing. The house I’m moving into has both, but I have no wood prepared for the winter, mainly due to living in an apartment right now. The place has a furnace as well, but I would like to use the wood stove in the basement when I can. What can I expect pay for delivered firewood in the elk valley? Also I don’t know much about getting my own wood, how long does it have to dry for and what not. Any advice or tips are appreciated.

just realized I posted in the wrong forum. Maybe a mod can move it for me.

eastkoot
09-26-2019, 11:36 AM
Go onto the Elk Valley Garage sale site on Facebook and post an inquiry..

monasheemountainman
09-26-2019, 11:45 AM
go cut a few loads yourself?

happyhunter
09-26-2019, 12:25 PM
Hi Grimey, I don’t know about elk valley but I think prices are pretty much universal in the kootenays . About 200-300/cord depending on species, split, delivery etc. Should be lots of posts on the local buy and sell. Could be some scammers too. Pay cash.

Dash
09-26-2019, 01:32 PM
Like others have said, I definitely recommend your local buy/sell groups (especially on Facebook). That's where I see tons of ads get posted. The prices I see are like happyhunter said above, $200-300 for a cord (p/u truck load) of split wood. It also depends on the type of wood. There are some types that have a longer, hotter burn that are great specifically for wood stoves so you may find higher prices for that. I'm not sure on the types but maybe someone here can offer some more information in that regard. And for gathering your own, I would think you're too late to gather live wood to dry for the winter so I would look for dead standing trees. Look for the ones with no green, cut it down, buck it up and you're good to go. They will burn instantly but quickly.

Salty
09-26-2019, 01:32 PM