PDA

View Full Version : Is my technique bad?

Big Chris
07-01-2019, 07:36 PM
I am just getting into archery and am shooing consistent groups but high and to the left, while holding on bullseye. I am at most 15 yards away from a foam block target. I am thinking about taking a lesson or two to hopefully point out all the weak areas as I'm sure they are mostly weak areas lol. I went into an archery store that has a range in it in kelowna and the owner was kind enough to watch me shoot a few arrows to check my draw length. He pointed out weak areas right away. I move slightly when I release and am not still enough. Could this be it? My first few shots are within 1 or 2 inches of bullseye at 15 yards but everything after is like 4 or 5 inches high and to the left. I know it's hard to give me advice without seeing me physically shoot but I am hoping for some pointers that I can try to practice and implement on my own.

Wild one
07-01-2019, 07:48 PM
Sounds like form likely punching the trigger and dropping your arm but without seeing you shoot it’s only a guess.

If you’re a lefty it could be punching the trigger and gripping the bow rather than keeping an open hand

Sounds like form issues either way but it’s hard to pick out what without seeing you shoot

Big Chris
07-01-2019, 07:50 PM
I was slapping trigger before I try to let it happen slowly. And I am a righty. I hold the bow with my left, open fingers.

tinhorse
07-01-2019, 07:52 PM
I take it this is with a long bow or recurve with no sight. If it was a compound with sight, just adjust the pins up and left a little......if not that then my guess is your grip on the bow and twisting it slightly on release of the arrow. Good luck and keep practicing!

Big Chris
07-01-2019, 08:02 PM