PDA

View Full Version : Hot weather and Black Bears

Hugh Mann
05-31-2019, 08:28 PM
It's gotten pretty hot since my last outing for bears, and since I'm still fairly new to tracking them down, can anyone tell me how a hot spring changes their behaviour, if at all?

Best I could find reading on my own was mostly inconclusive, leaning towards no, but I would think a large animal with dark fur would overheat pretty quickly.

Husky7mm
05-31-2019, 08:43 PM
Seen bears out in the middle of the day +33, they were in the shade side of a pipeline just pigging out on grass. I don’t think it matters that much. Best part of the day for black bears is the last few hours of the day. Had great success on a hot day right before a storm roles in. AC/DC thunder struck on the radio for the win as the storm builds and the big boars are roaming...... right about this time of year.

Wild one
05-31-2019, 08:45 PM
Was hunting last few days them mid day 26C - 28C and seen plenty of bears. The trick is shady areas with food near water. It is very common for bears to go for a drink mid day. The bears are out there no matter how hot it is you just need to go where they are

Rayne
05-31-2019, 08:47 PM
Ya what wildone said. Find the shady areas or a creek and hunt around it they will be there just get above it and glass.

BCHUNTER21
05-31-2019, 09:29 PM
last year i think i saw 16 or 17 bears in an afternoon. it was 30+

Firstblood
05-31-2019, 10:09 PM