PDA

View Full Version : Skunked in chetwynd!

mark
09-16-2007, 09:59 PM
Just got home from 2 weeks of hunting hard, in an area of chetwynd ive been hunting for 15 years! This is only the second time we've come home without meat. The moose scene is pretty bad, I saw 1 bull moose the first day, turns out it was the only bull moose seen by any hunter we talked to in 2 weeks. We saw some cows but very few calves. We went primarily for elk, and there was lots of sign, and lots of action! We saw elk nearly every day of our trip and there was lots of bugle action! In our first few days we figured this would be an easy hunt and we'd be going home early! I personally called in 14 bull elk, over half I could of arrowed, and one as close as 20 feet! My other buddy called in 8 bulls, and an old timer we camped with (who cant even walk very far) still managed to pull 5 bulls! 27 bull elk and not a 6 pointer to be found anywhere :sad:! Yes we pulled some herd bulls and all were 5 points! All our honey holes for heavy bulls had light bulls in em. Our theory is, that all the 5 and 6 pointers that rutted last year didnt make it through the winter. We didnt even see any sign of any big bulls anywhere, and this is a first of all the years we've hunted there! Of all the hunters we saw and met in the 2 weeks we only heard of 2 elk being shot and they were small 5 pointers with 1 little extra point just to make em legal! Not bummed out or anything, it was probably the most fun Ive ever had, 14 bulls is about triple what I usually see up there, and bugling elk is about the most exciting thing there is in the hunting dept! I did take lots of pics of bulls I could of shot and i will add some pics tomorrow.

P.S. wow 5,300 new posts in 2 weeks, you people should get out more! :-D
If there was any great threads, or drama, or awesome kills I should know about send me the link!

elkdom
09-16-2007, 10:33 PM